45 of 300 Candidates nominated for Young Achievers Awards 2018

 2018 Commonwealth 5000m gold medal Joshua Kiprui Cheptegei is among the four listed  in the media & journalism category together with NBS sports presenter Dallen Kyeyune. Paralympic star David Emong, She Cranes (7s) are listed in outstanding sports personality category.

Humphrey Nabimanya, the Team Leader & Founder of Reach A Uganda addressing guests

Musicians Eddy Kenzo and Rema Namakula are among the five others listed in the Performing Arts category.

Young Achievers Awards finalists were revealed on a dinner ceremony held at Kampala Serena Hotel on Wednesday evening.

Humphrey Nabimanya, the Team Leader & Founder of Reach A Uganda (RAHU) said the aim of the awards is to support the youth to reach their full potential in their different endeavors.

“Celebrating the youth that are contributing to the development of Uganda does not only empower them, but also gives guidance and support to the youth whose efforts are rarely recognised. This therefore encourages them to push their ideas and businesses to even greater heights.” Nabimanya stated.

“As RAHU, our commitment is to ensure that we put the youth at the front-line so that they can realise the maximum of their potential in whatever they are doing,” he added.

Ambrose Mulangira, the Chief Judge for the 2018 Young Achievers Awards revealed he  received over 300 nominations and these were taken through a rigorous criteria which included idea originality, impact of innovation and sustainability of the idea among others to sieve out the 45 finalists.

Winners will be announced at an awards gala night that will be held on Saturday, August 18 at the Kampala Serena Hotel with Johnnie Walker as the sponsor.

Here’s the full List of nominees of the 2018 Young Achievers Awards:

Innovation and ICT category

  1. Phyllis Kyomuhendo
    2. Andrew Mugerwa
    3. Jacqueline Mutumba
    4. Julius Naika
    5. Brian Gitta

Social Entrepreneurship category

  1. Richard Kalungi
    2. Andrew Musoke
    3. Monica Nyiraguhabwe
    4. Moses Nkesiga
    5. Stephen Katende

Business category

  1. Ronald Hakiza
    2. Samson Wambuzi
    3. Muhammad Sekatawa
    4. Campus Bee
    5. Natalie Bitature

Farming and Agro-Processing category

  1. Fiona Rukwanzi
    2. Bazil Mwotta
    3. Jean Onyati
    4. Edward Mukiibi
    5. Khamutima Tumwebaze

Fashion category

  1. Charles Mulumba
    2. Anita Beryl
    3. Christabel Kente
    4. Juliana Nasasira
    5. Kennedy Zziwa

Outstanding Sports Personality category

  1. David Emong
    2. She Cranes(7s Rugby)
    3. Douglas Smith
    4. Joshua Kiprui Cheptegei
    5. Ivan Magomu

Performing Arts category

  1. Eddy Kenzo
    2. Ivan Mulumba
    3. H2C Dance group
    4. Felix Byaruhanga
    5. Rema Namakula

Media and Journalists category

  1. Allan Darren Kyeyune
    2. Peter Malinz Kasadha
    3. Canary Mugume
    4. Abaas Mpindi
    5. Raymond Mujuni

Film and Photography category

  1. Edgar Kwesiga
    2. Richard Mulindwa
    3. Oscar Ntege
    4. Beohrts Beard
    5. Stuart Tibaweswa




Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

38 − 29 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.