MPs swearing-in starts today

MPs swearing-in starts  today

132 MPs to swear in today

A total of 529 members of parliament elect are set for the swearing in ceremony this week which is to last for four days (Monday to Thursday) and 132 MPs will be sworn in today.

The MPs will be sworn in for a five-year term as representatives for different constituencies across the country in the 11th Parliament.

The swearing in ceremony will be presided over by the clerk to Parliament Jane Kibirige and it will take place in the Parliament’s South Wing parking lot.

According to the program, the swearing in ceremony will be done in shifts with the first shift starting at 8:00am to 1:30pm.

The second shift will kick off at 2:00 pm and end at 6:30 pm in the evening for the four days.

Due to the Covid19 restrictions, only a few people will accompany the MPs to the ceremony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

6 + 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.