WhatsApp to disable messaging for users who do not accept new terms after May 15

WhatsApp to disable messaging for users who do not accept new terms after May 15

WhatsApp users will not be able to read or send messages after May 15 if they do not accept the App’s updated terms and conditions.

The service will begin displaying a banner alert in the coming weeks, after a previous attempt earlier in the year was halted amid fears data on the app would be shared more closely with Facebook’s main social network.

Users who do not accept the new terms will still be able to receive calls and notifications for a “short time”, but messaging will not be possible.

There will be a chance to agree after the deadline and have full functionality restored, but WhatsApp warned that inactive accounts are generally deleted after 120 days.

“To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th,” WhatsApp said.

“If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account.”

Earlier this year, the app began sending full-screen notifications to users alerting them they needed to review and agree to new terms of service and privacy policy in order to continue using the platform, which combined with references to parent company Facebook, sparked confusion and concern among some users over possible increased data sharing.

In the days that followed, rival messaging apps especially signal and Telegram saw download numbers increase as some moved away from WhatsApp, leading the firm to clarify the nature of the change and delay its rollout.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

+ 28 = 33

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.