Approved Public and Private Institutions of Higher Learning for Student Loan Scheme

Approved Public and Private Institutions of Higher Learning for Student Loan Scheme
University Graduates

The Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (HESFB) is a body Corporate established by an Act of Parliament, number 2 of 2014, to provide both Loans and Scholarships to Ugandan Students to pursue higher Education.

The 1995 constitution chapter 4. article 30 provides that all persons have a right to Education and this is expounded in the preamble to the constitution which provides for national objectives and directive principles of state policy that directs the state to take appropriate, measures to afford every Ugandan equal opportunities to attain the highest standards possible.

 The objectives of the Students’ Loan Scheme are:-

  1. to increase equitable access to higher education in Uganda;
  2. to support highly qualified students who may not afford higher education;
  3. to ensure regional balance in higher education services in Uganda;

Below is a list of approved Public and Private Degree awarding Institutions of Higher Learning whose students can qualify to apply for students loans:

 S/No.       University

  1. Makerere University Kampala
  2. Kyambogo University
  3. Mbarara University of Science Technology
  4. Busitema University
  5. Gulu University
  6. Muni University
  7. Islamic University in Uganda
  8. Uganda Christian University
  9. Kampala International University
  10. Bugema University
  11. Nkumba University
  12. Uganda Martyrs University
  13. Ndejje University
  14. Bishop Stuart University
  15. Kabale University

Health Institutions

  1. Butabika Psychiatric Nursing School
  2. Butabika School of Psychiatric Clinical Officers
  3. Health Tutors College Mulago
  4. Jinja Nursing School
  5. Jinja School of Nursing and Midwifery
  6. Masaka School of Comprehensive Nursing
  7. Medical Laboratory Technician’s School, Jinja
  8. Mulago Medical Laboratory School
  9. Mulago School of Dispensing/ Pharmacy
  10. Mulago School of Nursing and Midwifery
  11. Mulago School of Occupational Therapy
  12. Mulago School of Physiotherapy
  13. Mulago School of Radiography
  14. Ophthalmic Clinical officers training school
  15. Public Health Nurses’ college
  16. School of Clinical Officers, Fort portal
  17. School of Clinical Officers, Mbale
  18. School of Clinical Officers, Gulu
  19. School of Hygiene, Mbale
  20. Soroti School of Comprehensive Nursing


  1. Institute of Survey and Land Management
  2. National Meteorological Training School
  3. Uganda Institute of Information and Communications Technology
  4. Uganda Petroleum Institute Kigumba
  5. Uganda Technical College, Bushenyi
  6. Uganda Technical College, Elgon
  7. Uganda Technical College, Kicwamba
  8. Uganda Technical College, Kyema
  9. Uganda Technical College, Lira


  1. National Teachers’ College – Kabale, Kabale
  2. National Teachers’ College – Kaliro, Kaliro
  3. National Teachers’ College – Mubende, Mubende
  4. National Teachers’ College – Muni, Arua
  5. National Teachers’ College – Unyama, Gulu
Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

− 1 = 3

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.