Call for Applications: Makerere University Diploma Holders Admission under Government Sponsorship 2018-19

Call for Applications: Makerere University Diploma Holders Admission under Government Sponsorship 2018-19
Makerere University Students

The Academic Registrar, Makerere University invites applications from Diploma Holders only for admission under the Government Sponsorship Scheme (not exceeding 5% of the intake capacity) to the Undergraduate Degree Programmes for the 2018/2019 Academic year listed below.

Each applicant should possess at least a Credit or Second Class or equivalent Diploma in a relevant field from a recognised Institution plus a Uganda Certificate of Education (UCE) with at least 5 Passes (or its equivalent) and a Uganda Advanced Certificate of Education (UACE) with at least One Principal Pass and Two Subsidiary Passes obtained at the same sitting (or its equivalent) .

A non refundable application fee of Shs.50,000/= (Fifty thousand shillings only) plus the Bank Charge should be paid to any Stanbic Bank, dfcu Bank (Makerere Branch), Post Bank, Centenary Bank and Crane Bank before collecting the application form from the Admissions Office, Room 314, Level 3, in the Senate Building, Makerere University.

Certified Copies of Diploma Transcripts (not photocopies of certified copies) from the awarding Institutions must be attached to the application forms. Incomplete application forms shall not be processed. Details of the Diplomas required for each programme can be found here or viewed on Undergraduate Admissions Notice Board on Level 3, SenateBuilding, MakerereUniversity.

NB: Candidates will be responsible for verification of their academic documents from the awarding Institutions after admission.

Each applicant should also attach a copy of the Birth Certificate to the application form.

The closing date for returning the completed application forms to the University is Wednesday 31st January, 2018.

Candidates are warned against submitting forged academic documents as this will lead to automatic cancellation of admission, revocation of award where applicable and prosecution in the Courts of Law.

Please note that:

  1. Candidates whose Ordinary and Advanced level results are of Grades “Y”, “ Z” “7” and “9” need not apply because they are not eligible for admission, and;
  2. Candidates who possess 3rd Class or Pass Diplomas need not apply.

Courses eligible for Government Sponsorship under diploma entry scheme 2018/2019 are listed by College below:


MAM Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery

BDS Bachelor of Dental Surgery

PHA Bachelor of Pharmacy

BMR Bachelor of Science in Medical Radiography

BEH Bachelor of Environmental Health Science

BSB Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences

BBI Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering

BYT Bachelor of Cytotechnology

NUR Bachelor of Science in Nursing

BSL Bachelor of Science in Speech and Language Therapy

BPT Bachelor of Optometry


AGR Bachelor of Science in Agriculture

FST Bachelor of Science in Food Science and Technology

AGE Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Engineering

AGM Bachelor of Agribusiness Management

BAM Bachelor of Science in Land Use and Management

HOT Bachelor of Science in Horticulture

BVS Bachelor of Environmental Science

BAR Bachelor of Agricultural and Rural Innovation

BMT Bachelor of Science in Meteorology

HUN Bachelor of Science in Human Nutrition

BOF Bachelor of Science in Forestry


ARC Bachelor of Architecture

LSG Bachelor of Science in Land Surveying and Geomatics

ELE Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering

CIV Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering

MEC Bachelor of Science Mechanical Engineering

STE Bachelor of Science in Telecommunications Engineering

SQS Bachelor of Science in Quantity Surveying

SLE Bachelor of Science in Land Economics

SCM Bachelor of Science in Construction Management

CMP Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

FIN Bachelor of Industrial and Fine Arts


STA Bachelor of Statistics

BQE Bachelor of Science in Quantitative Economics

BPS Bachelor of Science in Population Studies

BBS Bachelor of Science in Business Statistics

ECO Bachelor of Arts in Economics

DEC Bachelor of Arts in Development Economics

COE Bachelor of Commerce

ADM Bachelor of Business Administration


MUS Bachelor of Arts in Music

BDF Bachelor of Arts in Drama and Film

BCO Bachelor of Community Psychology

BIP Bachelor of Industrial and Organisational Psychology

SOC Bachelor of Social Work and Social Administration


SCP Bachelor of Science (Physical)

SCB Bachelor of Science (Biological)

SEC Bachelor of Science (Economics)

BIC Bachelor of Science in Industrial Chemistry

BFS Bachelor of Science in Fisheries and Aquaculture

BSP Bachelor of Sports Science

BCB Bachelor of Science in Conservation Biology

BPG Bachelor of Science in Petroleum Geo-science and Production

BBT Bachelor of Science in Biotechnology


CSC Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

BSW Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

IST Bachelor of Information Systems and Technology

LIS Bachelor of Library and Information Science

BRA Bachelor of Records and Archives Management


VET Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine

WHM Bachelor of Science in Wildlife Health and Management

MLT Bachelor of Biomedical Laboratory Technology

BAP Bachelor of Animal Production Technology and Management


LAW Bachelor of Laws

NB: All applicants for Bachelor of Laws will be required to sit and pass the Pre-entry examinations set by MakerereUniversity. The advert for Pre-Entry exams will come out in March, 2018.


COM Bachelor of Commerce

BBD Bachelor of Business Administration

BIB Bachelor of International Business

BLH Bachelor of Leisure and Hospitality Management

BES Bachelor of Entrepreneurship & Small Business Management

BBC Bachelor of Business Computing

BIM Bachelor of Office and Information Management

PSM Bachelor of Procurement and Supply Chain Management

2nd January, 2018
Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

+ 9 = 15

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.