CECAFA Kagame cup 2015: Azam crowned champions

CECAFA Kagame cup 2015: Azam crowned champions

Azam-FC-captain-John-Bocco-receives-the-Cecafa-Kagame-Cup-trophyAzam FC beat Gor Mahia to claim their first Cecafa Kagame Club Championship  in Dar es Salaam.

The  Tanzanian boys Azam took the lead against the Kenyan Premier League champions on 16 minutes through skipper John Raphael  Bocco.

Gor Mahia  made numerous moves  in a bid to square matters just before half time with  Innocent Wafula’s  ball missing the target by inches.

In the second half, Gor Mahia became more lethal, but failed to come back from the  Bocco’s stricke.Gor mahia finals

In the 64th minute it was the Ivorian import Kipre Tche Tche added another the damage as he picked up a free kick  lashed home an unstoppable strike that made it 2-0 for Azam.

Tanzania money bags Azam finished the tournament without conceding a goal from the open play.

In an earlier match, Uganda’s representative , KCCA FC, finished third after beating Al Khartoum of Sudan 2-1 in the third-place play-off game.

KCCA FC won bronze medals and a cash prize of  US$10,000.

Michael Birungi and Muzamir Mutyaba were on target for KCCA FC whille Ousmalia Baba scored the consolation goal for Sudanese side Al Khartoum.

The CECAFA KagameClub Championship attracted 13 teams from Tanzania, Kenya, Djibouti, Zanzibar, Sudan, Rwanda, Burundi, Somalia, South Sudan, Ethiopia and Uganda.

The next edition of this tournament will be played in Zanzibar in 2016.

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

33 − = 25

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.