How to Apply for Students’ Loan Scheme for the Academic Year 2023/2024

How to Apply for Students’ Loan Scheme for the Academic Year 2023/2024

Call for students’ loan applications for the academic year 2023/2024

The Higher Education Students Financing Board (HESFB) is inviting applications for study loans under the Students’ Loan Scheme from eligible Ugandan students who have been admitted in their first year under the listed Undergraduate Diploma and Degree programmes for the Academic Year 2023/24 in the Public Universities, Private Chartered Universities and the listed Other Tertiary Institutions.

The Applications will commence on Monday 4th March, 2024. The deadline for application is Friday, 15th March, 2024.

What the Student’s Loan Covers

  1. The Students’ Loan shall cover tuition fees and functional fees. The loan shall also cover Aids and Appliances for persons with disabilities, while research funds may be covered as and when budget allows.
  2. Student loans shall strictly be awarded to students joining Higher Education Institutions in First Year.
  3. The Loans will be awarded to applicants pursuing Undergraduate Diploma and Undergraduate Degree programmes only.

How to apply for the Student’s Loan 

  1. The Loan Application process is solely online and is available through our website Visit website and Click APPLY NOW. Note that no hard copy application forms shall be allowed.
  2. Applicants shall be required to pay a non-refundable Loan Processing Fee of UGX 53,000 to the HESFB LOAN APPLICATION FEE, Account No. 3740300006 Centenary Bank or 01363669053643 DFCU Bank. The Payment Receipts shall be scanned and attached during the Loan Application process.
  3. Applicant who may encounter challenges in the application process can seek help by calling 0392174999 or 0414255300 or through our Social Media pages

Requirements for the Student’s Loan 

  1. A copy of the Admission Letter from the participating Higher Education Institutions
  2. A copy of an Applicant’s the National ID
  3. Copies of Parents’ National IDs
  4. Copies of Death Certificate (In case parents are deceased)
  5. Copies of an Applicant’s Academic certificates or result slips and transcripts
  6. A copy of the Birth Certificate
  7. A copy of the recent Passport Photo
  8. Proof of payment of the non-refundable Loan Processing fee of UGX 53,000
  9. A sketch map to the applicant’s current address/residence
  10. A sketch map to the applicant’s home of origin (If different from current address)
  11. More requirements can be found on

Approved programmes/courses for support in the academic year  2023/2024

The Board will support applicants to pursue ALL accredited undergraduate degree and diploma programmes in the listed 16 key academic disciplines;

  1. Agriculture
  2. Engineering
  3. Laboratory Science Programmes
  4. Human Medicine
  5. Nursing and Midwifery
  6. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  7. Animal Sciences
  8. Petroleum and GeoScience Engineering
  1. Science Education
  2. Special Needs Education
  3. Statistics
  4. Computer Science and Information Technology
  5. Health Care Management Sciences
  6. Conservation Sciences
  7. Pure Sciences
  8. Tourism and Hospitality Programmes

Please Note: Persons with Disabilities can apply to pursue any accredited Programme of their choice (including Humanities) from any of the listed Higher Learning Institutions.


Public Universities

  1. Busitema University
  2. Gulu University
  3. Kabale University
  4. Kyambogo University
  5. Lira University Africa
  6. Makerere University
  7. Mbarara University of Science & Technology
  8. Muni University
  9. Soroti University
  10. Mountains of the Moon University
  11. Makerere University Business School (MUBS) is an affiliate of Makerere University.

Private Chartered Universities

  1. African Bible University
  2. Bishop Stuart University
  3. Bugema University
  4. International University of East
  5. ISBAT University
  6. Islamic University in Uganda
  7. Kampala International University
  8. Kampala University
  9. Ndejje University
  10. Nkumba University
  11. Uganda Christian University
  12. Uganda Martyrs University
  13. Victoria University


1 Uganda Institute of Allied Health & Mgt Sciences (Mulago Paramedical School)
2 Health Tutors’ College – Mulago
3 Fort Portal College of Health Sciences
4 Gulu College of Health Sciences
5 Mbale College of Health Sciences
6 Butabika School of Psychiatry Clinical Medicine
7 Jinja School of Ophthalmic Clinical Medicine
8 Mbale School of Hygiene / Environmental Health Science
9 Jinja Medical Laboratory Training School


  1. Institute of Survey and Land Management
  2. National Meteorological Training School
  3. Uganda Institute of Information and Communications Technology
  4. Uganda Petroleum Institute Kigumba
  5. Uganda Technical College, Bushenyi
  6. Uganda Technical College, Elgon
  7. Uganda Technical College, Kicwamba
  8. Uganda Technical College, Kyema
  9. Uganda Technical College, Lira
  10. Nakawa Vocational Training College

About the Higher Education Students Financing Board

The Higher Education Students Financing Board (HESFB) was established by the Higher Education Students Financing Act, No. 2 of 2014 as a body corporate to provide Loans and Scholarships to students intending to pursue Higher Education in Uganda.

Under the Student Loan Scheme, HESFB awards study loans to Ugandan students seeking to pursue Higher Education but are financially constrained.

The objectives of the Students’ Financing Scheme are;

  • To increase equitable access to Higher Education in Uganda
  • To support highly qualified students who may not afford Higher Education
  • To support critical programmes for national development
  • To ensure regional balance in Higher Education services in Uganda
  • To create a revolving fund.
Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

31 − 24 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.