Maseno University is the pride of Nyanza province

Maseno University was formed in 1991 in Maseno near the western city of Kisumu. It is one of the seven public universities in Kenya and is ranked as the second best university in Kenya.

Maseno University currently has four Campuses, a College and a Constituent College. Maseno Main Campus is in Maseno Township 25km from Kisumu on the Busia road.

The name “Maseno” was coined by Rev. J.J. Willis out of the name of a tree known in local dialects as “Oseno” or “Oluseno” that stood next to the spot where the first missionaries in the region erected their base

It is a fully government accredited university, enacted by an Act of Parliament in 1991. In 2000 Maseno University was enacted to be a fully-fledged university.

At the December 2008 graduation ceremony, H.E. the President of Kenya, Hon. MwaiKibaki, appointed Professor FridaKarani, PhD, as the second chancellor, after the expiry of the tenure of William Wamalwa.

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

47 + = 54

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.