Moi University was the second public university to be established in Kenya

Moi University was the second public university to be established in Kenya

Moi UniversityMoi University was the second public university to be established in Kenya after the University of Nairobi. Named after the Former Kenyan President, Daniel Arap Moi, Moi University is located in Eldoret, 310 kilometres northwest of Nairobi, the Capital City of Kenya.

It was established as the second university in Kenya by an Act of Parliament, the Moi University Act of 1984.

The first cohort of 83 students was admitted in 1984 through a transfer from the Department of Forestry, University of Nairobi.

Since then, the University has experienced phenomenal growth from its initial one faculty in 1984, to a total of Thirteen (13) Schools, four (4) Directorates and Two (2) Institutes in 2012.

The total student population by late 2013 stood at 31, 723, distributed as follows:

  • Diploma 1029,
  • Government Sponsored (GSSP):14,545,
  • Privately Sponsored (PSSP):14,306,
  • Postgraduate Students: – MPhil: 1,577
  • DPhil: 266 in programmes in various disciplines.

The University currently operates Four (4) campuses, namely: Main Campus, Town Campus, Eldoret West Campus and Odera Akang’o Campus.

Graduates of Moi University
Graduates of Moi University

The Town campus hosts the College of Health Sciences (Medical complex), School of Aerospace Sciences (Rivatex) and School of Law(Annex) while the Eldoret West Campus is home to PSSP programmes.

Moi University is proud to have Two (2) constituent colleges, namely Garissa and Rongo that also offer unique undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, and a total of Five (5) Satellite Campuses in Nairobi, Kitale, Alupe, Kericho, and Coast (Mombasa). (View Moi University Campuses in a larger map)

Students and Staff
The students are registered in 297 programmes consisting of 90 for undergraduate, 134 Master of Philosophy, 61 Doctor of Philosophy and 12 Postgraduate diploma programmes. The number of students is envisaged to increase to 42,000 by 2014/15, taking into account the current annual student growth rate of approximately 16% per year cumulatively in all categories of Government sponsored, Privately Sponsored and student population growth at the satellite campuses. The figure could still go higher with the inception of the Open and Distance learning programmes.
There are a total of over 3,662 staff all levels of whom 934 are academic staff.

The University has modern teaching facilities that support academic programmes: Margaret Thatcher Library, the Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital, Water Resources Engineering Laboratory and a Textile Engineering Laboratory.

Also see: University of Nairobi shares the success stories of higher education in Kenya


Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

5 + 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.