Scholarships for Women in Agricultural Research and Development

Scholarships: African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills, through tailored fellowships. 

AWARD is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers, especially women.

AWARD Fellows benefit from two-year fellowships focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Fellows stay in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to AWARD training courses held in various locations in Africa.

Women agricultural scientists who are citizens of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor¹s, master¹s, or doctoral degree in one of the disciplines listed below, or other agriculture-related fields, are eligible to apply. Applicants must be resident in Africa throughout the two-year fellowship period.

Agricultural economics, Agricultural engineering, Agronomy, Animal and livestock sciences, Aquatic resources and fisheries, Biodiversity conservation, Crop scienceEcology, Entomology, Extension education, Food science and nutrition, Forestry and agroforestry, Horticulture, Molecular biology (plant/animal breeding), Natural resources management, Plant/animal virology, Soil science, Veterinary sciences, Water and irrigation management, Other

Fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist¹s research to improve the livelihoods of African smallholder farmers. This is the last round of fellowships offered by AWARD under its current grant funding.

How to Apply: For the electronic application form and more information, click here.

Deadline: August 8, 2014

Applications received after the deadline and incomplete applications will NOT be accepted. Winners will be notified by December 31, 2014.

Successful candidates must be available to attend one of the three five-day AWARD Mentoring Orientation Workshops to be held in February/March 2015 in Kenya. Specific dates to be announced.

AWARD is generously supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the United States Agency for International Development, and the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa. AWARD is a preferred service provider of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), and is hosted by the CGIAR¹s World Agroforestry Centre.

For information regarding the Call for Applications, please contact:

African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD),
P.O Box 30677,
UN Avenue Nairobi 00100 Kenya

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

− 2 = 7

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.