Search for Makerere university new Chancellor kicks off

Search for Makerere university new Chancellor kicks off
The Chancellor, Makerere University, Prof. Mondo Kagonyera
The Chancellor, Makerere University, Prof. Mondo Kagonyera

Makerere University has started the search for the next Chancellor who will replace  Prof. George Mondo Kagonyera whose second and final four year term as Chancellor of Makerere University ends on October 23rd 2015.

The search kicked off on Tuesday 25th August 2015.

A committee of five members headed by Mr. Bruce B. Kabaasa and four members has been set up to conduct the process.

The four members on the committee are;

  1. Mr. Stephen B. Maloba,
  2. Mr. John Chris Ninsiima
  3. Dr. Euzobia Baine Mugisha
  4. Dr. Sarah Ssali.

“Members of the public with consent of the Nominee may send in letters of nomination, and curriculum vitae signed by the Nominee, copies of academic qualifications; testimonials; names and full addresses of three referees. Nominations with the Nominees’ contact details should reach the Office of the University Secretary by 5:00pm on Wednesday 9th September, 2015,” highlighted the Chairperson of the Search Committee, Mr. Bruce B. Kabaasa.

The Chancellor is the Titular Head of the University and presides at all assemblies, confers degrees, other academic titles and distinctions of the University.

Prof. George Mondo Kagonyera, who is the out going Chancellor has served in the position for two consecutive terms; from 2007 to 2015.

The Chairperson of the Search Committee, Mr. Bruce Kabaasa expressed the readiness of his team to perform the task assigned to them, exhibit the highest level of integrity and confidentiality throughout the search process and submit a report to the Makerere University Council before 23rd October 2015.

Mr. Kabaasa emphasized the need for those nominating candidates for the position of Chancellor to ensure that they are eligible for nomination.

Members of the public are advised not to nominate serving Chancellors and Vice Chancellors of Universities as well as any individual currently registered as a student in any University.

For a candidate to be eligible for nomination, he/she must:

a)    Be a citizen of Uganda
b)    Have at least a Bachelor’s Degree (Honours) from a recognised institution of higher learning
c)    Have relevant managerial experience
d)    Be a person of high integrity, and should  have  good public relations with the ability to market and internationalise the University
e)    Be aged not less than 55years and not more than 75 years at the time of nomination

The Chancellor of Makerere University does not receive regular emoluments but he/she is facilitated whenever he/she comes to the University for Official Duties.

The Chancellor holds office for a period of four years but shall be eligible for reappointment for one more term.

The next Chancellor will be the third Non-Head of State Chancellor of Makerere University. He/She will succeed Prof. George Mondo Kagonyera-the Second Non-Head of State Chancellor of Makerere University. Prior to Prof. Mondo Kangonyera’s term as Chancellor, Prof.  Apolo Robin Nsibambi served as the first non-Head of State Chancellor of Makerere University from 2003 to 2007.

The Secretariat to the Search Committee comprises Mr. Charles Barugahare, Acting University Secretary and Mr. Goddy Muhumuza, Senior Legal Officer, Makerere University.

Please see Downloads for the Committee’s Terms of Reference and more details.

Additional reporting by Makerere university Public Relations Office

FOR more reading see links below:


Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

63 − 56 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.