The 8th Edition of The Biannual East Africa University games .

By Michael Mugote


The 8th Edition of The Biannual East Africa University games begins on 8th this month at the University of Dar es salaam in Tanzania (UDSM).
According to trustful sources from Tanzania (Tz), the incumbent President of Tz HE Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete will grace the opening ceremony at UDSM.
Kyambogo University, Makerere University and Kampala International University have already departed by road to represent Uganda. Nkumba University among others are yet to reach in Tanzania for this one week scheduled event which will climax on 12th February 2013.
This East Africa University games’ Event that is held in rotation basis brings together students from different universities in the region(East Africa), in which they compete in different sports
discipline which include netball, football, volleyball, race, swimming, chess, hockey, rugby, handball, taekwondo, Karate, woodball among other indoors and outdoors games.
Unlike Zambia who failed to defend the AFCON cup in South Africa, Ndejje University is willing to shield their supremacy.
Over 50 universities from East Africa region (Uganda,Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania) are expected to vie in this competition.
Confirmed Universities to represent Uganda inlude Ndejje University, Kampala University, Busitema, Uganda Christian University (UCU), Makerere University Business School, Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST) and Islamic University in Uganda (IUIU).
Other Universities are Makerere, Kampala University, Nkumba, Bugema, Kyambogo, Gulu, Bishop Stuart, Uganda Martyrs, St. Lawrence and Kampala International University (KIU)
However Kumi, Kabale and the International University of East Africa Universities wont be part of this year’s edition.
Makerere University has won this championship 5 times while Ndejje and Ergerton from Kenya have won it two times.
Former Champions
2010 Ndejje (Uganda)
2007 Makerere (Uganda)
2006 Makerere (Uganda)
2004 Makerere (Uganda)
2002 Makerere (Uganda)
2001 Makerere (Uganda)
1999 Ergerton (Kenya)

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

62 + = 69

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.