Graduate courses offered at Makerere University

Makerere Main Building
Makerere Main Building

Makerere University offers more than 100 graduate programmes under their respective academic units.

Masters degrees (full time)  take two academic years while part time  takes three – four academic years.

Below is a list of the graduate courses offered at Makerere University

1. College of Agricultural Sciences & Environmental Sciences (CAES)

  • MSc. in Agricultural Extension & Education
  • MSc. in Crop Science
  • MSc. in Animal Science
  • MSc. in Agricultural Engineering
  • MSc. in Soil Science
  • MSc. in Agricultural Economics
  • Master of Agribusiness Management
  • MSc. in Food Science & Technology
  • MSc in Agricultural & Applied Economics
  • MSc. in Plant Breeding and Seed Systems
  • Msc in Applied Human Nutrition
  • MSc. in Environment & Natural Resources
  • MSc. in Agroforestry
  • MSc. in Forestry
  • M.A. in Geography

2. College of Business and Management Sciences (CoBAMS)

  • PGD in Demography
  • PGD in Statistics
  • M.A. in Economic Policy and Planning
  • M.A. in Economic Policy Management (Day &Evening)
  • M.A in Economics
  • Master of Business Administration
  • M.A. in Gender Analysis in Economics (Day)
  • M.A. in Demography
  • Master of Statistics
  • M.A. in Population and Development
  • MSc. in Population and Reproductive Health
  • MSc. in Quantitative Economics
  • MSc in Population Studies

3. College of Computing and Information Sciences (CoCIS)

  • PGD in Information Technology
  • PGD in Computer Science
  • PGD in Data Communication and Software Engineering
  • PGD in Information Systems
  • MSc. in Computer Science
  • Master of Information Technology
  • MSc. in Data Communications and Software Engineering
  • Msc. in Information Systems
  • MSc. in Information Science

4. College of Education and External Studies (CEES)

  • PGD in Education
  • M.Ed. in Science Education
  • M.Ed. in Social Sciences & Arts Education
  • M.Ed. in Language & Literature Education
  • M.Ed. in Curriculum Studies
  • M.Ed. in Educational Foundation
  • M.A. in Educational Policy and Planning
  • Master of Adult and Community Education

5. College of Engineering, Design, Art and Technology (CEDAT)

  • PGD in Construction Project Management
  • M. of Engineering – Civil (Evening)
  • M. of Engineering – Mechanical(Evening)
  • M. of Engineering – Electrical (Evening)
  • MSc. in Civil Engineering(Day)
  • MSc. in Electrical Engineering(Day)
  • MSc. Mechanical Engineering (Day)
  • M. of Architecture (Day)
  • MSc. in Renewable Energy (Day)
  • M.A. in Fine Art

6. College of Health Sciences (CHS)

  • M. Med: Internal Medicine
  • M.Med Family Medicine
  • M.Med Microbiology
  • M.Med Ophthalmology
  • M.Med Paediatrics and Child Health
  • M.Med Pathology
  • M.Med Psychiatry
  • M.Med Radiology
  • M.Med Ear, Nose &Throat
  • M.Med General Surgery
  • M.Med Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • M.Med Anaesthesia
  • M.Med Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Msc in Medical Illustration
  • MSc in Human Anatomy
  • MSc in Pharmacology
  • MSc in Physiology
  • MSc in Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics
  • Master of Dentistry (Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery)
  • Master of Public Health (Full Time)
  • Master of Public Health (Distance)
  • Master of Health Services Research
  • Master of Public Health Nutrition

7. College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHUSS)

  • PGD in Gender and Local Economic Development
  • PGD Counselling
  • M.A. in Human Rights
  • M.A. in African Languages
  • M.A. in Philosophy
  • M.A. in Languages(foreign)
  • M.A. in History
  • M.A. in Music
  • M.A. in Literature
  • M.A. in Religious Studies
  • M.A. in Peace and Conflict Studies
  • M.A. in Religious and Theological Studies(Ggaba & Kinyamasika)
  • M.A. in Journalism and Communication
  • M.A. in Linguistics
  • M.A. in Gender Studies
  • M.A. in Public Administration & Management
  • M.A in Social Sector Planning & Management
  • M.A. in Sociology
  • M.A. in International Relations& Diplomatic Studies
  • M.A. in Rural Development
  • M.Ed. in Educational Psychology
  • Master of Organisational Psychology (Evening)
  • M.A. in Counselling
  • MSc. in Clinical Psychology

8. College of Natural Sciences (CoNAS)

  • MSc. in Mathematics
  • MSc. in Physics
  • MSc. in Chemistry
  • MSc. in Botany
  • MSc. in Zoology
  • MSc. in Geology
  • MSc. in Mathematical Modelling
  • M.Sc. in Biochemistry

9. College of Veterinary Medicine, Animal Resources and Biodiversity (CoVAB)

  • PGD in Livestock Development Planning & Management
  • M. of Vet. Medicine (Food Animal Health & Production)
  • MSc. in Molecular Biology
  • MSc. in Vet Pathology
  • M. of Veterinary Preventive Medicine M. of Wildlife Health and ManagementMSc in Livestock Development Planning and Management
  • Master of Biomedical Laboratory Sciences and Management
  • Master of Wildlife Tourism & Recreation Management
  • Master of Science Natural Products Technology and Value Chain Management
  • Master of Science in Animal Product Processing, Entrepreneurship and Safety

10. School of Law (LAW)

  • Master of Laws


  • Ph.D in Information Systems
  • Ph.D in Computer Science
  • Ph.D in Software Engineering
  • Ph.D in Information Technology
  • Ph.D in Information Science
  • Ph.D in Plant Breeding and Biotechnology.


  • Diplomas – One academic year
  • Masters degrees (full time) – Two academic years
  • Masters degrees (part time) – Three – four academic years
  • Masters of Medicine – Three academic yearsMaster of Public Health (Day) – Three academic years
  • Master of Public Health (Distance) – Three to six academic years
  • PhD (Provisional Admission) – One academic year Maximum
  • Ph.D/MD/LLD (full time) – Three academic years
  • Ph.D/MD/LLD (part time) – Five academic years.
Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

29 − = 25

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.