Makerere university Electoral Commission sworn in

Makerere university Electoral Commission sworn in
Makerere University electrical commission that is going to handle guild elections
Makerere University electrical commission that is going to handle guild elections

Makerere University has been sworn in a new Electoral Commission ahead of the incoming Guild elections. The team led by Michael Byemero as chairman took oath on Friday 21st February 2014.

The swearing was witnessed by the Dean of Students, Cyriaco Kabagambe, the Deputy Dean Stephen Kateega, Wardens of University halls of residence and other officials of Makerere University.

Other officials of the Commission include Najjuka Margaret (Vice Chairperson), Yosia Mugume (Finance Commission), Michael Opoya (Public Relations) and Harris Justus Akampulira (Secretary).

In his counsel to the fresh Commission, Kabagambe encouraged them to watch out against any malpractices in the dispensation of their duties.

“Let the constitution be your guide as you facilitate the process of electing a Guild President. As the Electoral Commission you are neutral to all parties. I hope you took up these positions for purposes of serving the community and not extorting money. We shall not hesitate to relieve you of your duties, should you be found to have engaged in unacceptable practices,” he emphasized.

So far, about 20 candidates have expressed interest in vying for the Guild presidency of Makerere University. The Electoral Commission will draft a schedule to guide the entire procedure of choosing the next Guild President. In his acceptance speech, Byemero vowed to serve impartially.

“I promise to use the constitution and to consult with all stakeholders so that this Electoral Commission delivers excellently. I call upon all students and Staff to cooperate with us as we organize free and fair elections, “ he asserted.The Vice Chairperson, Margaret Najjuka, clarified that candidates belonging to political parties will have to first go through primaries in their parties and the one who emerges winner will pick nomination forms to represent his/her party.

Candidates are given seven days to return the filled in nomination forms.Adeke Anna Ebaju is the current guild president, having taken over from Ivan Kata. The Guild President serves for a one year non-renewable term in office. Election of Guild Representatives to Council (GRCs) will follow the Guild Presidential elections.

By Marion Alina

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

48 + = 52

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.