Uganda Cranes Safely Camp in Lesotho ahead of Lesotho Clash in AFCON

Uganda Cranes Safely Camp in Lesotho ahead of Lesotho Clash in AFCON

Uganda Cranes delegation on Sunday afternoon safely landed in Maseru, the Capital City of Lesotho ahead of the return league on Tuesday (tomorrow) in African Nations Cup Group L qualifier.

Lesotho Vs Uganda Africa Nations Cup group L qualifiers
Uganda Cranes players checking in at Avani hotel in Lesotho from the plane after the arrival.

The group which included 24 players left the country aboard on Sunday morning on a chartered plane facilitated by President Yoweri Museveni Kaguta as earlier promised.

The delegation was led by FUFA Executive committee member Richard Ochom, alongside him was FA boss Moses Magogo, technical staff, FUFA Executive Committee members, FUFA delegates, National Council of Sports officials, members of parliament, Government officials and fans.

We expect a good performance in the game because we had good preparations for this match. Let us pray for the best of expectations since our target is qualification to the AFCON tournament in Cameroon” Ochom stated.

We arrived safely and everyone is in perfect condition. The journey was good and we thank our President, His Excellency Yoweri Kaguta Museveni for the chartered flight offer. We pray that we achieve the best of results here in Maseru as we work towards securing qualification to the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon’ Richard Ochom added.

The Uganda Cranes who are now Group L toppers with 7 points face Lesotho on Tuesday, 16th October 2018. Uganda hit three past Lesotho on Saturday courtesy of goals from  Emmanuel Okwi and Farooq Miya in the first encounter.


  • Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundown, South Africa), Jamal Salim (El Meriekh, Sudan), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda)
  • Defenders: Murushid Juuko (Simba SC, Tanzania), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam FC, Tanzania), Godfrey Walusimbi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (El Geish, Egypt), Dennis Iguma (Kazma FC, Kuwait), Isaac Isinde (Kirinya Jinja SS, Uganda), FC, Isaac Muleme (Haras El Hodood, Egypt), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda)
  • Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Moses Waiswa (Vipers Sc, Uganda), Joseph Benson Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Ibrahim Sadam Juma (KCCA FC, Uganda), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC, Uganda), Allan Kateregga (Cape Town City, South Africa), Milton Karisa (MC Oujda, Morocco), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA, Uganda)
  • Forwards: Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried, Austria), Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Faruku Miya (Gorica, Croatia), Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried, Austria), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt)


Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

32 + = 42

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.