Uganda U-17 23-Man Squad flies out to Tanzania ahead of tournament

Uganda U-17 23-Man Squad flies out to Tanzania ahead of tournament

Peter Onen has named 20 players for the U-17 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers (CECAFA region) scheduled next week in Tanzania.

The team flew out of the country on Tueday morning where there will be a stopover in Kigali before connecting to Dar es Salam in Tanzania where the CAF Regional Qualifiers tournament will be held from 11th – 26th August

Uganda hope to recover the their fortunes after losing out to Somalia at the CECAFA U-17 Championship in Burundi few months ago.

Sharif Bogere fights Chilean Oscar Bravo tonight
Samson Kasozi who plays his club football for Bright Stars FC Junior Team jumps highest ready to head the ball during training

Acouple of new faces have been included for the zonal qualifiers including Davis Ssekajja, John Kokas Alowo, Elvis Ngonde, Najib Yoga and Mwaka Polycap, who was dropped from the travelling party to Burundi last time.

Onen says their target is first qualify out of the group and then set their eyes on the ultimate.

“We have worked on the mental toughness of the players because the games are going to be tense and decisive and that has been our emphasis. The boys know football but tactical interpretation for all players must be key,” Onen said.

The qualifiers will kick off on 11th August and end on Sunday, 26th August 2018 at the National stadium in Dar el Salaam and Azam Complex in Chamanzi.

Full Squad

 Daniel Semwogere (UPDF JT FC), George Oluka (Buddo SS), Delton Oyo (KJSSS FC JT)
Defenders: Kevin Ssekimbegga (Buddo SS), Joseph Kafumbe (Buddo SS), Samson Kasozi (Bright Stars FC JT, Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), John Rogers (Onduparaka FC JT), Juma Ibrahim (KCCA SA), Ibrahim Ekolot (Bright Stars FC JT)
Midfielders: Davis Ssekajja (Bright Stars FC JT), Yasin Abdul Owane (Rock High School), Polycarp Mwaka (Football For Good Academy, Gulu), Thomas Kakaire (SC Vipers JT), John Kokas Alowo (URA FC JT), Elvis Ngonde (KJSSS FC JT)
Forwards: Iddi Abdul Wahid (Onduparaka FC JT), Ivan Asaba (SC Vipers JT), Najib Yoga (Kisozi Seed High School), Owen Mukisa (BUL FC JT)

Group A: Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Somalia, Sudan
Group B: Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Djibouti

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

1 + 9 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.