Parliament of Uganda approves three new Public Universities

Parliament of Uganda approves three new Public Universities

inaguration of soroti university

Parliament has approved three new public universities after thorough scrutiny by the National Council for Higher Education.

The universities include Kabale university in Kabale District, Lira University in Lira District and Soroti University in Soroti District.

The three added universities will fully start operating (as public universities) in the financial year  2016/2017.

These are in addition to Makerere UniversityKyambogo UniversityBusitema UniversityMbarara University of Science and TechnologyGulu University and Muni University.

This brings the numbers of public universities in Uganda to eight.

The minister of education, Jesicca Alupo said the new public universities will equitably expand higher education to undergraduate and post graduate levels and will develop human resources appropriate for the transformation and development of Uganda.

She added that the universities will enable students to undertake basic and applied research critical to national development.

The minister of state for science and Technology Prof. Togboa Tikodri  hinted on some courses that will be taught like I.C.T, Public health, medicine, Engineering, Science teacher education, Agriculture among other courses.

Loading spinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

49 − 43 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.